“The World Colored by Snow,” Brandon Nelson (satb choir)

Posted on Updated on

A gentle mountain snowfall…an icy midnight sojourn…the simple, quiet joy of first snow…

I found the perfect voice for the feelings and scenes of winter I wanted to convey in the tiny verses known as haiku.  I’ve always loved haiku. I admire the expressive power that the skilled poet can wring out of such bare economic means.  A scene, painted so poignantly, so vividly—an essence, a sigh, a quick, visceral sketch to capture the deceptively-simple drama of nature revealing itself.  They are epigrams of life.

I hope these little morsels of music and words fill you with the essence of the winter season and that I’ve been able to impart some of the enthusiasm and admiration I feel for this wonderful aspect of Japanese culture.

(complete details in the program notes)

Difficulty

advanced

Voicing

SATB choir with piano

Length

ca. 5′

Free Preview Score 

click below for purchase options:

Buy Now Button with Credit Cards

US$2.50 (PDF score – you may produce as many copies as the quantity you indicate on the purchase page)

Keep up with my work and join the community conversation on my Facebook page!

Follow me on twitter!

2 thoughts on ““The World Colored by Snow,” Brandon Nelson (satb choir)

    Holly Massie said:
    November 6, 2013 at 1:07 pm

    Hi Brandon I featured this haunting composition in my November Choral linkup http://stairwellcarollers.blogspot.ca/2013/11/november-2013-choral-linky-party-now-on.html#.UnqEGBDrTK4
    Come add another one — Holly :)

    My Year in Music, 2013 | The Music of Brandon Nelson said:
    December 30, 2013 at 11:22 pm

    […] the text and was free to choose the musical style and other important parameters.  The result was a seven movement piece setting winter-themed haiku.  The choirs worked very hard throughout the fall semester and presented a wonderful premiere in […]

Leave a Reply

