“Pax Aeterna,” Brandon Nelson (orchestra)

I normally don’t enter competitions, but this one piqued my attention. The Duluth-Superior Symphony Orchestra announced a young composer’s prize and I, being from the same region as Duluth, thought I’d give it a shot. My piece ended up winning and they performed it twice–at the premier and at a concert about a year later. It was a real honor and the performance was quite nice.

About the Piece

Pax Aeterna (“the peace eternal”) is a musical prayer for lasting peace in the world. Using a simple, plaintive melody as its basis, the orchestra brings the listener through dramatic peaks and valleys reflecting on the struggle of realizing the goal of peace.

Published by JM Publishing.

Difficulty

medium advanced

Length

ca. 4′

Click HERE to get a free score preview and to review your purchase options!

Keep up with my work and join the community conversation on my Facebook page!

Follow me on twitter!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

